What I have learned from 2 years journey in software development ๐Ÿ’ช

ยท

3 min read

Hello everyone,

I'm excited to share some valuable insights from my two-year journey in software development. These lessons have shaped my understanding and approach to the field, and I hope they can benefit others as well.

1- Don't watch long courses:

When I learned HTML, CSS and javascript. I decided that it was time to move on to Reactjs, so the thing I did is I enrolled in a Reactjs course with over 40 hours of content, which I thought it was good because I will learn all the important things about Reactjs, but in fact, after finishing the course I discovered it's a mistake because I found myself mostly following along with the instructor's projects, and very little of that knowledge stuck. , I didn't take the initiative to build my own projects, plus a 40 hours course is so long, matter fact almost 60% of what I learnt in that course I didn't use in either my projects or my internships, To sum up when I will learn new framework or language I would prefer to watch a 5 hours to 10 hours course and practice by building projects instead of watching long hours course.

2- Learn UI/UX basics:

In my first days of learning I didn't know anything about design, UI or UX , I didn't even know about platforms like Dribble, so I built some ugly UIs in my first projects like this one

So as a beginner, you have to learn UI/UX or at least before creating a UI get some inspiration from the internet , This doesn't mean you have to be an expert in UI and UX because that's another job "UI/UX designer" and you are a "software developer". By the way, I am still bad in UI/UX but better than before, this is the latest UI I created

dashboard

3- Avoid simple projects:

Simple projects like landing pages and to-do apps are great for gaining confidence, but they might fall short when it comes to securing jobs in this competitive market. As you progress, challenge yourself to build more comprehensive products. For instance, if you're creating a landing page for a marketing tool, expand it to include login, signup, and dashboard features. To take it even further, consider developing your own software-as-a-service (SaaS) product โ€“ platforms like Product Hunt can be useful for SaaS ideas.

4- Collaborate with other devs :

Collaboration is a key aspect of software development. Don't overlook the power of Git and version control. Start collaborating early by working on projects with friends or peers. This experience will not only introduce you to team dynamics but also help you grasp essential Git commands like commit and pull requests. Familiarity with Git will make you a valuable asset when joining a professional team.

5- Be consistent:

Consistency is often underestimated. Looking back, I regret not being more consistent in my coding routine during the early days. It's better to code for just 30 minutes every day than to cram long sessions intermittently. Consistency builds a habit that sticks with you and accelerates your growth over time.

Please note that these insights are based on my personal experiences and might not apply universally. Your journey in software development will be unique, but I hope these lessons provide you with some valuable guidance.

I would love to hear your thoughts โ€“ feel free to leave a comment, and if you enjoyed this article, don't forget to like and share ๐Ÿš€.

ย